Caran d’Ache + Paul Smith 849 Ballpoint Pens

image

Here it is, the Caran d’Ache 849 designed by Paul Smith. My opinion of the CdA Goliath ballpoint refills hasn’t changed since my previous post on the 849, so I wasn’t planning on getting more, but these have a wonderfully matte surface and an attractive (and very un-CdA-like) color spectrum (10 colors). The 849s in an array of rainbow colors can amaze, but the fact is that they impress in aggregate; I’m sure if I buy any one color I’ll tire of it pretty fast. Maybe that’s why I tend to buy them in pairs. (Or maybe trios? The light grey, called “putty”, was also very attractive – but I really must stop! It’s not as if I use ballpoints all that much.)

image

image

image

The tin snaps shut magnetically, and is quite pretty, if impractical.

Blogging is slow these days, not because I’ve stopped writing or exploring, but because most things tend to languish in the Drafts folder. Plus the weak winter light doesn’t help with the photos. I’ll try to upload what I have in the coming days. Happy holidays to you all from an unseasonably warm Montreal!

5 thoughts on “Caran d’Ache + Paul Smith 849 Ballpoint Pens

    1. The Jotter seems to have been a “first love” for many people. I confess I’ve been tempted by pastel versions of it in the past :) I love how the metal barrel tapers just like a sharpened pencil in the 849.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

