Nanami Seven Seas Writer Notebook

The “Writer” notebook that the online shop Nanami sells under their Seven Seas brand is already in its fourth edition and a lot has been written about it already, so I will only note for the purposes of this review that it is a solid 480-page block of Tomoe River paper, stitched and bound in a soft cover, that comes in its own casing. I liked it enough to buy again. I’m a bit intimidated by thick bound journals – I usually go for spiral-bound notebooks that you can tear pages off of – but the Writer has worked beautifully for me as a transcribing notebook (more on this below). 

The thick stack of onionskin paper opens completely flat, and the layers form a cushion beneath the fountain pen nib; I really feel that Tomoe River paper looks and feels its best at volumes like this (as with the Hobonichi planner). When I first started the notebook I was concerned about the translucency, especially since the ruled lines were sometimes misaligned front and back and you could see it. So for the first half of the notebook I only wrote on the front, but I got over that later on (which was fortunate, because the back side was actually smoother and more pleasant to write on).

The only downside to this notebook is that the shipping costs are prohibitive when ordering from outside the U.S. Paper is heavy, and it usually costs at least as much as the notebook itself to ship, if not more, so it takes a lot of commitment. But on the plus side, the Writer has a lot of pages so I am all set for the next couple of years :)

(Oh, one more shortcoming is that you sometimes find creases inside around the stitching. It’s probably because of the sheer volume of paper being folded and pressed together, but I’ve learned to forgive this.)

This is my first try at uploading a video and the resolution doesn’t seem that great… but hopefully my video skills will improve. I really had fun writing in this notebook! It’s not a diary but a receptacle for literary quotes and passages I wanted to save from online sources and books borrowed from the library. In Korea students of literature routinely transcribe works of their favorite authors, regardless of whether you own the book or not. The act of transcribing is seen as a sort of meditative effort to understand the oeuvre better. I wonder if similar practices exist in the West?

7 thoughts on “Nanami Seven Seas Writer Notebook

  1. Onion skin paper, that’s a nice word.

    Thanks for showing us. I’ve heard about this notebook on the past, but it’s great to see how it is.

    Like

    1. I’ve gotten more attached to it over time. It’s not a notebook to use and then throw away, it’s for keeps! It’s almost like a book in its own right. One notebook lasts for about two to three years, in my case :)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 이런 리뷰 감사합니다. (꾸벅) 미도리 경량지 노트가 토모에가와 종이를 사용한단 설이 있습니다만 실제로 굉장했습니다. 미도리 쪽은 無地라서 오래 못 쓰고 옮겨오긴 했는데 소개해주신 이쪽은 횡괘라 더욱 좋은 듯합니다.

    Like

    1. 이 노트 참 잘 만들었다고 생각하는데요… 사이즈도 딱 좋고 7mm 괘선도 딱 적당하고 무엇보다도 가격대비 종이의 양이 엄청나서 참 마음에 드는데요… 배송비가 문제예요 (캐나다에서 주문할 때도 본품 가격만큼 배송비를 지불했었어요). 이런 노트를 여기저기서 좀 많이 만들었으면 좋겠는데 말이죠. 토모에리버 종이는 이렇게 두툼해야 예뻐요^^

      미도리는 마음이 떠난 지 오래라 경량지 노트가 나온 줄 몰랐는데 이담에 한 번 찾아봐야겠군요.

      Like

  3. I don’t know how often literature students copy texts (although in the 1800s people kept “Commonplace Books” where they wrote down quotes and passages they liked; some people still do this), but writers often transcribe other authors they admire in order to really see what the author is doing.

    Like

    1. I’m glad to know writers do that across cultures. And “Commonplace Books” – what a wonderful name! Thank you for telling me the name of many of my notebooks :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

